Page 1 of 1

A couple questions...

Posted: Mon May 29, 2017 9:07 am
by murtalianconfederacy
Started doing some actual designs for a supplement (I've still been in an AE form of mind, but I'm working on another style closer to Hard Vacuum), and in the midst of doing it a couple questions popped up:

1) how does a weapon with both Deadly and Incapacitating interact with screens? Do the traits cancel each other out, or do you have two potential damage points that can be nullified by the Incapacitating's saving roll?

2) Can a dual-mode weapon have one mode with the Expendable trait and not the other, or do both modes have to have the trait? [thinking of external ordnance racks in Starfire-style games or a double/triple shotted cannon in Age-of-Sail games]

Re: A couple questions...

Posted: Mon May 29, 2017 7:16 pm
by Doresh
1) Going by p. 36, I'd say they do combine: Deadly causes additional damage, and then you check the Incapacitating trait to see which of the damage points actually stick.

2) This is not really spelled out, but I would assume it works like the Slow trait (p. 42): You don't have to make both modes Expendable, but firing the Expendable one will cause both modes to run out of ammo.

Re: A couple questions...

Posted: Tue May 30, 2017 9:28 am
by murtalianconfederacy
Yeah, I'd agree with the first one. The second one, I'm not so sure on. If pressed, I'd go with the NE ruling that a weapon must have the Expendable trait in both modes or neither, but I kinda like the idea of having a single-shot weapon combined to a standard weapon--like external ordnance racks, say, that block other weapons until fired.

Re: A couple questions...

Posted: Tue May 30, 2017 3:40 pm
by mj12games
murtalianconfederacy wrote:1) how does a weapon with both Deadly and Incapacitating interact with screens?

The Incapacitating trait affects the "base" damage point(s) from the weapon. The extra point(s) from the Deadly trait are applied normally. Thus, a Dly/Inc weapon with DMG-2 would roll two dice when it hits, checking off one screen for each roll of 3+ PLUS an additional two screens.

2) Can a dual-mode weapon have one mode with the Expendable trait and not the other, or do both modes have to have the trait?

I believe I intended for weapons to require Exp in BOTH modes. But as the rulebook does not explicitly state this, I would say you can have Exp only in one mode. Once fired in the Exp mode, the weapon can only fire in the non-Exp mode.