Melee actions

Complete fantasy mass-combat wargame system

Moderator: Taltos

yoyodynamite
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 1:36 pm

Melee actions

Postby yoyodynamite » Thu Mar 13, 2008 1:49 pm

Hi guys,
we played a 4000 point game of undead vs knights etc this week and a heated discussion occurred regarding melee. Can someone confirm whether a unit in contact with the enemy has to spend command points to Melee them. For example in our game Wraith cavalry charged a unit of Crossbowmen who decided not to fight in their turn (obviously they took their free shot at the initial charge)

Should the melee be completed to conclusion the turn contact occurs or does it continue into the next? Our reading of the rules is that two units could remain in Melee for a whole game without actually doing anything if neither side pays any command points after the first contact...

Toby.

jimbeau
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 9:56 pm

Postby jimbeau » Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:38 am

two units could remain in Melee for a whole game without actually doing anything if neither side pays any command points after the first contact


That is correct. they essentially sit still.

jygro
Captain
Captain
Posts: 401
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 11:24 pm
Location: Bloomington, Indiana

Postby jygro » Fri Mar 14, 2008 4:26 am

Yep, without spending command points, the two units just stand there, but I don't see why the undead player doesn't spend command points to free up the cav. Seems a bit of a waste to have cav just 'sitting' there in contact with bowman...

-B

yoyodynamite
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 1:36 pm

Postby yoyodynamite » Fri Mar 14, 2008 11:17 am

Thanks for clarifying that and yes the cavalry should have got on and trampled all over the bowmen but command points were few and far between given some appalling dice rolls! Hence the request for rules clarification by the frustrated Undead commanders.

- I should have asked as well; if the Wraiths cause Horror, does this apply only on first contact or each time CPs are spent by either side on the Melee. In other words each time a command to attack (continue Melee) is given?

Thanks again for your help

Toby.

jimbeau
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
Posts: 960
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2005 9:56 pm

Postby jimbeau » Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:17 pm

nope, just the charge action


Return to “For the Masses”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest